Association of Jewish Libraries of Southern California

First Dorothy Schroeder Awards


Dorothy Schroeder Award


The first Dorothy Schroeder Awards were presented on June 12, 1989, to Rabbi Isaiah Zeldin, Rabbi Dr. William Cutter, and Mr. Sydney J. Greenberg for their collaborative efforts in establishing formal college-credit courses for Judaica Librarianship and a Certificate of Librarian-Teacher, because of the influence of Dorothy Schroeder, z"l. The awards were presented at the Association of Jewish Libraries of Southern California meeting at Stephen S. Wise Temple Library, Los Angeles.

Photo from left:
Fran Shuster, then AJLSC President and Librarian, Calabasas High School, Calabasas; Adaire Klein, then Chair, AJLSC Dorothy Schroeder Committee, and Director of Simon Wiesenthal Center Library and Archives, Los Angeles; Betty Perl, daughter of Dorothy Schroeder; Evelyn Shultz, sister of Dorothy Schroeder; Rabbi Isaiah Zeldin, Senior Rabbi, Stephen S. Wise Temple, Los Angeles, and former Dean of College of Jewish Studies, Los Angeles (where the college-level Judaica librarianship courses began); Rabbi Dr. William Cutter, Professor of Education and Hebrew Language and Literature and then Director of the Rhea Hirsch School of Education, Hebrew Union College-JIR, Los Angeles (formerly the College of Jewish Studies); Mr. Sydney J. Greenberg, z"l, then Consultant, Bureau of Jewish Education, Los Angeles (which issues the Certificate); and Barbara Y. Leff, then member of Dorothy Schroeder Committee and Library Director, Stephen S. Wise Temple, Los Angeles..